Readus interruptus

images2.jpgHi people.

When I read I get into this trance-like mode where I try to feel as though I am there with the characters and feel their emotions through my own. I love to read and really don’t like to be interrupted. I do most of my reading on the train and can usually sit there for a good 50 minutes before I have to look up. When I’m about to get settled in reading mode, or have been in it for a while, an interruption is really disturbing. I think my reading can be pretty fairly compared to sleep. It takes me a little while to get to the deepest level of reading, REM sleep is like when I am completely in the author’s world. Once my reverie is broken, it takes some time to get back in. A temporary interruption is one thing; sometimes you encounter a person who wants to have a whole conversation in the midst of reading time. This is just a complete nuisance. It takes some time to leave Bookland and listen to what’s being said to you. Often you can’t wait for the interruption to go away so you can go back to the story you’re in the middle of.

One comment on “Readus interruptus

  1. Rachel says:

    Great post! And what a cool analogy between involved reading and REM sleep.

Leave a Reply

